Free Consultation, Available 24/7
San Diego: 619-814-5110 | Vista: 760-814-6025
DUI Defense in Chula Vista, California
On average, 30 people die from DUI-induced accidents every day. In the city of Chula Vista, law enforcement takes driving under the influence very seriously and are quick to press charges against those who violate the law. Any person who is charged with a DUI in Chula Vista faces potential fines and incarceration if convicted. It is important to seek counsel for your DUI defense in Chula Vista.
DUI charges should not be taken lightly. A one-year driver’s license suspension is an automatic penalty for anyone who gets convicted. Any person who is charged with a DUI should hire an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to represent them in their case. With the right lawyer on your side, you can navigate the criminal process and have a chance at mitigating the charges you face.
What Should I Do If I’m Charged With a DUI In Chula Vista?
Hiring an attorney is the first step in navigating a successful DUI case in Chula Vista. An experienced attorney understands how to build a viable defense strategy based upon the circumstances of your case. In Chula Vista, the prosecution must be able to prove these three factors to convict a person of driving under the influence:
- BAC was above .08
- Presence of illegal drugs in their system
- BAC was above .00 in a person younger than 21
When you get pulled over for a DUI, it’s difficult to know how to respond. The best course of action is to do what the police ask unless you’re instructed otherwise by an attorney. If you submit to a breathalyzer test or blood test when you get pulled over, the prosecution will be able to use this evidence against you. However, if you refuse to take the test, you face an automatic one-year license suspension and will be required to attend a DUI program. It’s also essential to never admit fault for a DUI-related accident without speaking to an attorney first.
Serious Penalties for DUI Convictions
DUI charges in Chula Vista, California are considered a first-degree misdemeanor. The penalties for a first-degree misdemeanor are serious and include:
- Up to $1,000 in fines and additional penalty fees
- Up to six months in jail
- Driver’s license suspension for one year
- Payment of a $125 license reinstatement fee
People who are convicted of DUIs are often forced to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle to keep them from drinking and driving. This device monitors a person’s BAC and does not let them drive impaired. In addition to an ignition interlock device, individuals convicted of a DUI are often also required to attend an approved DUI rehabilitation program.
If there’s a child under the age of 14 present in the vehicle at the time of a DUI arrest or if serious injuries or death occurred during the accident, the charges become more severe. Likewise, penalties for DUI arrests and convictions increase for individuals who have multiple DUI offenses or multiple charges. Whether you’re facing your first DUI or your third, Attorney Dod is a top choice for a criminal defense attorney. He can use his years of expertise to defend your case and help you return to your normal life.
Hire an Experienced DUI Attorney in Chula Vista Today
If you’re facing DUI charges, there’s still hope for your future if you hire a criminal defense attorney who knows how to build a reliable defense strategy. It’s important to know that even a first-time DUI can have lasting consequences in California.
With more than 17 years of experience defending people just like you across the state of California, Attorney Dod is a top choice for a criminal defense lawyer in Chula Vista. He is highly rated on Avvo.com by his past clients and is on the Top 100 Trial Lawyers list. During the course of his career, he has worked on more than 6,500 criminal defense cases across the state. To schedule a free consultation with Attorney Dod, call his office at 619-814-5110 or contact his office online today.