Though not as serious as a felony, misdemeanors charges can affect your future and freedom. If you or a loved one is charged with a misdemeanor in California, penalties can include up to $1,000 in fines or a sentence in county jail. A misdemeanor charge can also prevent you from gaining desired employment, and disrupt your life in many ways. Learn more from a San Diego misdemeanor attorney.
Dod Law, APC, in San Diego, California, will effectively represent you. Led by experienced San Diego misdemeanor defense attorney Dod Ghassemkhani, he and his team will do its best to ensure a not guilty verdict happens in your case. Proficient, effective and client-focused, our attorneys will work tirelessly to ensure you get the most favorable outcome for your misdemeanor case.
Stages Of A Misdemeanor Case In San Diego
What is Considered a Misdemeanor in California?
A number of lower crimes in California are misdemeanors. This list includes:
- Petty theft
- Disorderly conduct
- Reckless driving
- Public drunkenness
However, more serious misdemeanor charges are gross misdemeanors or aggravated misdemeanors. These include multiple DUI charges, driving with a suspended license, and domestic violence involving harmful contact. Gross misdemeanors can ramp up penalties past a $1,000 fine and even result in up to a year in county jail.
Other misdemeanor variants are “wobblers.” In California, a “wobbler” offense is one that could be prosecuted as either a misdemeanor or a felony. In determining whether to pursue a charge as a misdemeanor or a felony, prosecutors consider whether you had a prior criminal record; the facts of the case and the sophistication of the crime; and the possible inclusion of other charges.
3 Steps to Take After Being Charged With any Misdemeanors in San Diego, California
While a misdemeanor may not be considered as severe an offense as a felony, this type of charge should still be taken seriously when it comes to your defense. In order to ensure that you do not make matters worse for yourself when preparing your defense case, the following steps are crucial for you to follow:
- Contact a Lawyer: Immediately after you have been charged with a misdemeanor, you should contact our team of San Diego misdemeanor lawyers. It is crucial that you have legal representation to help build your defense.
- Collect Evidence: You should gather any evidence that may prove your innocence in regards to the misdemeanor crime you have been accused of. This may be witness testimonies, social media posts showing that you were elsewhere at the time of the crime, phone call logs, or text messages.
- Do Not Speak About the Case: You should avoid speaking about the case both in-person and online. Any statements you make public can be used against you.
While you may be feeling like the justice system is against you, that is not the case. You do not need to go through this process alone. Our legal team is prepared to help you build a strong defense case in hopes of having the charges against you reduced or dropped altogether.
Contact our Team of Trial-Tested San Diego Misdemeanor Lawyers
California law is strict with misdemeanors cases. You need a skilled San Diego criminal defense lawyer to fight for your rights. Dod Law, APC, in Vista and Downtown San Diego has more than a decade of experience in criminal law. Mr. Ghassemkhani has been the lead attorney in more than 75 jury trials as well as more than 400 preliminary hearings in the San Diego area. He knows how to handle misdemeanor charges, no matter your situation. For a free consultation, contact our law firm in San Diego at 619-814-5110 or in Vista at 760-814-6025.