Vista DUI Lawyer
A DUI charge or arrest can negatively impact your life for a substantial amount of time. You may lose your driver’s license, have to pay high fines, or even face jail time. All of these negative repercussions can affect your daily life and your reputation. If you have been charged or arrested for a DUI, you may feel as if there is no hope, but a Vista DUI Lawyer understands how to fight for you during this stressful time.
Dod Law, APC, in Vista, CA is adamant about defending your rights and freedom. We can advocate for you and exhaust all of our best resources in order to achieve the best outcome for your case. With 17 years of extensive experience in criminal defense, Attorney Dod has worked on 6,500 successful criminal cases and is a trusted ally in getting the expert legal help you need.
What May Happen After a DUI Arrest
Under California law, a DUI charge is a misdemeanor offense. Regardless of this, offenders typically suffer severe consequences. After you have been arrested for a DUI, this is what may happen next:
- Driver’s license suspension following your DUI arrest. In order to prevent this, you have to submit a request for a DMV hearing.
- An arraignment hearing to give your plea to a judge. Your case might go to trial unless your Vista, CA attorney negotiates an outcome where a trial is unnecessary. If your case goes to trial, the outcome will be decided by a jury.
- Your DUI lawyer will develop a solid defense to obtain a successful outcome for your case. Strategies like proving that your rights were violated, undermining the arresting officer’s testimony, or finding other gaps in the evidence against you can oftentimes reduce penalties.
- If you’re found guilty, you will face harsh penalties that may include high fines, jail time, education programs, rehabilitation, a suspended driver’s license, restricted driving privileges, and others. The severity of penalties depends on whether you have a criminal record, the injuries involved in the incident, and other factors dependent on the judge.
- An experienced Vista, CA DUI attorney can help you negotiate less severe penalties upon conviction.
Working with a seasoned Vista, CA DUI lawyer can bolster your chances of a favorable outcome for your case. Your DUI lawyer can develop a strategic defense in order to diminish the negative consequences you may be facing. Speak to a knowledgeable lawyer for an assessment of your case.
What To Do If You Are Arrested in Vista California for a DUI
Types of DUI Charges in Vista, CA
DUI convictions in California escalate in severity depending on the number of times the offense was committed. First-time DUI convictions are the least severe. California drivers must drive without repeating a DUI offense for ten years before a previous DUI conviction is no longer considered. The tiered DUI system in California is extremely complicated, and it may be the case that the same blood alcohol content (BAC) arrest could lead to different penalties depending on previous DUI convictions and incidents.
The following are some of the types of charges and penalties for DUI charges in California:
First-Time DUI Convictions in Vista, California
For a first-time DUI misdemeanor offense, penalties are harsh and may impact your civil liberties and driving privileges. You potentially face:
- Up to six months in jail
- High fines, up to $1000, and other fees
- Driver’s license suspension for up to four months
- Payment of license reinstatement
Other penalties may include an installment of an ignition interlock device to prevent future occurrences of drinking and driving. Judges may also order a rehabilitation program or other courses of action. Your charges may also be more severe if there are other circumstances at play during your arrest, like having a child in the car or if you caused an injury while driving.
Second-Time DUI Convictions in Vista, California
Second-time DUI offenses include the following penalties:
- 96 hours or up to one year in jail
- Completion of an 18-month to a 30-month alcohol treatment plan
- A judge-ordered installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle
- Driver’s license suspension for up to a year
- Payment of license reinstatement
For second-time offenses, these are minimum penalties and are decided at a judge’s discretion. Working with a Vista, California DUI lawyer bolsters your chances of minimizing penalties. Defense strategies like proving that your rights were violated, undermining the arresting officer’s testimony, or finding other gaps in the evidence against you can help diminish penalties.
Third-Time DUI Convictions in Vista, California
Third-time DUI offenses and subsequent offenses may include the following penalties:
- A minimum of 120-180 days to up to a year in jail
- Completion of a long-term alcohol treatment plan, up to 30 months.
- Your license privileges are revoked for at least three years or longer
- Up to $1,800 in fines
- Ignition interlock device installed for two years
Penalties may be harsher depending on the judge’s discretion. Without doing an alcohol treatment plan, DUI offenders may not ever get their license reinstated. Depending on the incident and number of past offenses, you may be facing up to 16 months in prison, and your vehicle may be impounded for three months, or you may lose your vehicle.
Probation for DUI Offenses in Vista, California
First-time DUI offenders may be put on probation for at least three years and could potentially be extended by a judge. If you break any terms of your probation, you may incur harsher penalties.
DUI Expungement, California for DUI Offenders
A California DUI conviction can affect you for years down the road, even if your DUI didn’t cause an accident or injuries. This consequence will show up on background checks for future jobs and may affect your ability to enroll in certain educational programs or even qualify for a place to live.
If you have a past DUI offense on your record, it may be possible to get it expunged. However, it may still count against you in future DUI offenses and will still count against you in regards to the DMV. After your offense is expunged, employers will not be able to hold it against you when doing a background check or considering you for a promotion.
To get a DUI expunged from your criminal record, speak to a seasoned Vista, CA DUI lawyer at Dod Law about any options you may have. If your case is considered eligible, your skilled DUI lawyer will guide you on the best strategies to petition the court in your favor.
Speak to an Experienced Vista, CA DUI Lawyer at Dod Law
First-time offenses can be devastating and can affect your life long-term. In order to avoid damaging consequences and a mark on your criminal record that may affect things like obtaining a job or other privileges, speak with a skilled Vista, California lawyer at Dod Law.
Dod Law, APC, in Vista, CA is passionate about defending your civil rights and freedom. We will advocate for you and exhaust all of our best resources in order to achieve the best outcome for your DUI case. With 17 years of extensive experience in criminal defense, Attorney Dod has worked on 6,500 successful criminal cases and is a trusted ally in getting the dedicated legal help you need. We may diminish your penalties or potentially get them expunged. Speak with a skilled DUI lawyer by calling (619) 814-5110 or filling out our contact form.