DUI Lawyer in Encinitas
Being charged with a DUI in Encinitas, California is a serious offense. Each year, thousands of people die in the U.S. from drunk driving. Encinitas law enforcement takes a strong stance against those who act negligently and risk others’ lives by driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
DUI charges should not be taken lightly, and you may have many questions about what this means for your future. An expert DUI lawyer can do more than just answer your questions—they can defend you against tough prosecution. Attorney Dod of Dod Law in Encinitas will help you move forward with your life in a positive direction.
California DUI Laws
The state of California has two DUI laws. Vehicle Code 23152(a) makes it illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol. Vehicle Code 23152(b) makes it unlawful to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher. Most people who drive under the influence in California are charged with both violations.
What Are the Penalties for DUI Charges?
Most DUI charges in Encinitas, California are a first-degree misdemeanor. However, the offense may be charged as a felony if someone is injured or you have four or more DUIs on your record. Sentences include jail time, large fines, or DUI school. Additionally, you may lose your license temporarily.
A first offense may carry a sentence of up to six months in county jail, up to a $1,000 fine, or mandatory DUI school for three to nine months. For each subsequent offense, the penalties become more severe. Penalties also vary depending on your criminal history. Harsher penalties are assigned if you caused an injury while drunk driving or had a child 14 years old or younger in the vehicle at the time of the DUI stop.
However, your attorney may be able to work out a plea deal with the prosecutor to avoid jail time or large fines, especially if it’s your first offense. Alternative sentencing may include house arrest, community service, or rehab completion. It should be noted that alternative sentencing is a privilege, not a right. If you break any terms of the sentence, the judge may have you finish the rest of your sentence in jail.
What Steps Should I Take after a DUI Arrest?
California state prosecutors are aggressive and have full legal teams behind them. So, your first step after a DUI arrest is securing a skilled criminal defense attorney to represent you. The earlier you partner with a defense lawyer, the more helpful they can be.
For you to be convicted of a DUI, a prosecutor must prove the following:
- You had a BAC of .08 or higher
- You had a BAC of .01 or higher if you’re under 21
- You had illegal drugs in your system
When choosing a DUI defense lawyer, finding one who has a proven track record of successful case results is essential. Attorney Dod is the best choice for fighting a DUI charge in Encinitas.
DUI Cases We Handle in Encinitas
All DUI cases are different. Dod Law can represent you in Encinitas if you’re facing one of the following charges:
- First, second, third, and fourth offense DUI
- Manslaughter DUI
- Aggravated DUI
- Underage DUI
- Hit-and-run DUI
- Felony DUI
Generally, when you’re convicted of three DUI offenses within 10 years, they are charged as a misdemeanor. Any charge after your third within 10 years will be charged as a felony.
Choose Encinitas Experienced DUI Lawyer
If you’re facing DUI charges, there’s still hope for your future, but you must act quickly. You must hire a criminal defense attorney who knows how to build a reliable defense strategy. DUI penalties are severe, even for first-time offenders.
For more than 17 years, Attorney Dod has defended people facing criminal charges in Encinitas and across California. With a 10.0 “Superb” Avvo rating by past clients and his name on The National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 Trial Lawyers list, you can rest easy knowing Attorney Dod is on your side. Call (619) 814-5110 or complete an online contact form to schedule your free consultation.