Types of Hit and Run Charges in California
If you live in San Diego and you bumped another vehicle accidentally either while attempting to park on the street or in a parking lot, you have two options. You can leave your contact information for the owner of the vehicle you caused damage to, or you can try and drive away quickly in the hopes no one saw you. Learn more about the types of hit and run charges in California.
Option two is not in your best interest, as the law states that leaving the scene of an accident without providing proper identification to the other involved party when you’ve caused damage to their property is prohibited. If you’re facing these types of charges, you need to seek legal representation right away.
2 Types of Hit and Run Charges in California
There are two specific laws surrounding hit-and-runs in the state of California. These are:
A misdemeanor hit-and-run crime is when the accident only resulted in damage to another vehicle or property. What this means is, if someone is involved in an accident that causes any type of damage, they must stop and exchange information with all involved parties. If they are not, this can be classified as a misdemeanor hit-and-run charge.
If you were charged with a misdemeanor hit-and-run, you could face penalties that may include a fine up to $1,000, six months in county jail, and two points on your driver’s license. You may also be put on probation for three years, depending on your criminal history, and be required to complete community service. If the hit-and-run was caused by drunk driving, you may also be required to undergo substance use treatment or other programs.
A felony hit-and-run crime is when a driver flees the scene of a crime after causing injury or fatality to another person. A felony hit-and-run charge may also include serious property or vehicle damage.
This generally means that unless the crash leads to bodily injury, it’s often classified as a misdemeanor crime. If you leave the accident scene and know there’s a good chance that an injury resulted, you could end up facing felony hit-and-run charges.
If you’re charged with a felony hit-and-run that violates California Vehicle Code 20002 and it causes severe or permanent injury, or death, you could be facing penalties that could include a minimum of 90 days in county jail, a fine of up to $10,000, up to four years in state prison, and victim restitution. These penalties may differ depending on if you have a past criminal record or not.
Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer at Dod Law to Schedule a Free Consultation Today
Even misdemeanor offenses can lead to a tainted driving record and potentially a criminal record if you don’t take them seriously. If you received a misdemeanor or felony hit-and-run charge, it’s vital that you seek legal representation through a reputable law firm like Dod Law and let the professional San Diego criminal defense lawyers go to work on your behalf. We have 19 years of experience and are here to help protect your rights every step of the way during the legal process.