Free Consultation, Available 24/7
San Diego: 619-814-5110 | Vista: 760-814-6025
California became the first state in the nation to issue a Stay at Home order for all 40 million residents on Thursday, March 19, 2020 in the midst of the coronavirus epidemic. Gov. Gavin Newson issued the order, which supersedes local orders, and the State of Emergency was declared as early as March 4.
The deadly coronavirus is the cause of COVID-19, an illness that’s quickly spreading across the United States and threatening the lives of people of all ages. Currently, California has surpassed 16,000 cases, and there have been almost 100 deaths. The goal of the stay at home order is to help mitigate the spread of the virus, which may be transferred from infected persons who don’t show any symptoms.
Current Coronavirus Statistics in California as of 4/7/20
California is the most populated state in the country, so it’s no surprise that it has some of the grimmest COVID-19 statistics. Of the nation’s 11,830 deaths, 397 have occurred in California. The United States currently has the highest number of confirmed coronavirus cases in the world.
What to Know About the Statewide Stay At Home Order
Californians are ordered to stay at home “except as needed to maintain the continuity of operations of the federal critical infrastructure sectors.” To view the governor’s full executive order for COVID-19, click here:
When did the order go into place?
- On March 19, California took the lead as the first state to require people to stay at home except for necessary reasons.
When will the order be lifted?
- Currently, there is no specified end to the Stay At Home order.
What are the violations and penalties associated with the order?
- Police officers throughout California have already issued citations to residents violating the Stay At Home order. In Santa Cruz, 40 people were ticketed for visiting beaches and not practicing social distancing per the CDC’s instructions. People in Encinitas, a community in San Diego County, were ticketed for watching the sunset and having picnics on the beach.
- Penalties for violating the order may include a fine of up to $1,000 and up to six months in jail.
- Police officers have asked residents to call a non-emergency hotline to report people violating the Stay At Home order.
What kind of order is it?
- California has issued a Stay At Home order for all residents. People may not leave their homes unless they are conducting essential business. Only essential travel is permitted.
What are the essential businesses?
- “Essential travel” per the state’s Stay At Home order includes trips to:
- Grocery stores
- Farmers markets
- Convenience stores
- Gas stations
A full list of exempt services may be viewed here: https://covid19.ca.gov/img/EssentialCriticalInfrastructureWorkers.pdf
Contact Dod Law for Quality Criminal Defense During COVID-19
When you need quality criminal representation in San Diego, you can trust Attorney Dod of Dod law. Attorney Dod has 17 years of experience practicing criminal defense in San Diego, California and nearby areas. He has handled more than 6,500 cases, including 75 jury trials. Dod is also uniquely qualified by the California State Bar to resolve serious capital offenses, including murder charges for clients with multiple convictions. He is a member of the San Diego Criminal Defense Bar Association and the National College for DUI Defense.
Our firm is deeply involved in the criminal law sphere in San Diego, and we are concerned about your wellbeing during coronavirus. Our firm continues to function as an essential business. If you require legal services because you’re facing a criminal charge, come talk to us. Call 619-814-5110 for a free consultation or complete our contact form.