Penalty For Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Motor vehicle accidents happen often along the vast network of roadways in California. When in an accident, all parties must remain on the scene to address possible injuries and to address issues relating to property damage that may arise. Learn more about the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident.
Leaving the scene of an accident can have serious consequences for a party after a traffic accident, depending on the circumstances surrounding the crash. Several laws make fleeing the scene a criminal act. If you are accused of a hit-and-run, you will need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney to defend your rights, as you could face imprisonment, hefty fines, or a combination of both.
Penalties an Individual Could Face For Leaving the Scene of an Accident
If an incident only involves property damage from a car accident that an individual fled the scene from, then it will often be classified as a misdemeanor. The penalties for violating California Vehicle Code 20002 are up to six months in jail, up to a $1,000 fine, or a combination of both. Additionally, if convicted, the party will have a misdemeanor on their record.
Charges that arise from an accident that involves a serious injury or the death of a party for leaving the scene of an accident will likely be classified as a felony. If the injuries are not disabling or minor, the individual could face charges as a misdemeanor. As a felony charge, the potential consequences per California Vehicle Code 20001 are up to two, three, or four years of imprisonment in state prison, a fine between $1,000 and $10,000, or both.
What Defenses Are Possible When Facing Hit-and-Run Charges?
The aftermath of a car accident is chaotic and often confusing. An individual may have injuries, which could cause them to leave the scene of the crash in a hurry to get medical attention. In some cases, a driver may not even realize an accident took place, or they may have believed there was no damage to the vehicle or an injury.
There are various defenses that could apply to a situation in which an individual is facing hit-and-run charges in San Diego. Examples of some of the most common defenses to charges stemming from leaving the scene of the accident include:
- There were no injuries or actual damages that occurred
- The driver was unaware an accident happened
- There was a misunderstanding as to whether there were any injuries or property damage
- A case of mistaken identity if you were not driving the vehicle at the time
- You or someone in the vehicle required immediate medical attention
A knowledgeable lawyer can help protect your rights.
If You Face Hit-and-Run Charges in San Diego, Contact Our Team Today
The reality is that any hit-and-run charge is serious, and the outcome of your case can have widespread ramifications on your life if you face incarceration. Hit-and-run cases can involve complex legal issues, so you should not hesitate to call a lawyer to help with your case. Hiring a defense lawyer early on can give you the best chance at reaching a positive resolution of your case.
Our team of hit-and-run attorneys at Dod Law have almost two decades of experience handling cases through San Diego’s criminal justice system. We understand how difficult it is to face such serious charges, so we can help you defend your rights.