Dod Law is Fully Operational and Available During the COVID-19 Crisis. Contact Us for a Free Phone Consultation Today!
If a court finds you guilty of driving under the influence (DUI), part of your punishment may be installing an interlock ignition device (IID) in every vehicle you own. Until 2018, those convicted of a DUI had to wait 30 days before a judge agreed to give them a restricted license. There’s no longer a 30-day waiting period, and people are allowed to drive once they install the IID.
California prosecutors are aggressive when it comes to DUI charges, so you’ll need a skilled DUI lawyer on your side. Attorney Dod is a top choice for legal representation in California. He will thoroughly investigate your case and fight for the prosecution to drop or reduce your charges.
What Are Interlock Ignition Devices?
An IID is a small breathalyzer that a state-approved mechanic will install on the steering column in your vehicle. Before your car starts, you must blow into the IID and provide an alcohol-free breath sample. If you fail the test, the ignition lock will register the fail on your log sheet and report it to the court.
You’ll have to wait about 5 to 15 minutes after you begin driving to blow into the device. After that, the IID will require a sample at random intervals. Once the device alerts you to blow into it, you’ll have six minutes to pull over and blow.
IIDs have a short cord to ensure that only the driver can provide a breath sample. It’s also a crime for someone else to blow into the device for you. The IID records any attempt to tamper or disable it, when the engine starts and stops, and all breath results.
How Long Will I Have an IID?
Like other criminal penalties, the length of your punishment varies by how many prior convictions you have. For example, repeat offenders may have an interlocking device for much longer than a first-time offender. A judge can also take into account how much alcohol was in your system when sentencing.
First-Time DUI Offenders
First-time DUI offenders usually must have an IID for six months. The IID is in addition to other potential penalties, such as fines or jail time. You might also have to complete community service. There are instances where a court will find you not guilty, but the California DMV might still hold you liable. In these cases, the mandatory period for an IID is about four months.
Repeat DUI Offenders
Second-time offenders will have to provide breath samples for at least one year after a conviction. After a third conviction, the court may mandate an IID for at least two years. For fourth and subsequent DUIS, drivers may need to have the device in their car for at least three years.
The DMV might find repeat offenders liable, even when the court finds the person not guilty. When this happens, the driver must install the IID for about a year, regardless of prior convictions.
IID for Diving with a Suspended License
Under California Vehicle Code 14601, drivers are not allowed to operate a vehicle under a suspended license. Depending on the exact violation and if you have other convictions, the judge may require you to install an IID for one to three years.
How Much Does a California IID Cost in California?
It may cost between $75 and $150 to install an IID. However, you may qualify for financial assistance if you fall under the low-income threshold. This can reduce the cost by up to 50%. You must also have the IID serviced once every 60 days, which will cost about $50 each time.
Contact an Experienced California Criminal Defense Attorney Today
Even a first-time DUI conviction can have severe consequences in California. When you need a reliable defense attorney in San Diego, reach out to Dod Law. With more than 17 years of experience, Attorney Dod has tried more than 6,500 cases, including 75 jury trials.
He has the experience you need to review your case and ensure you’re represented fairly in court. To schedule a free consultation with Attorney Dod, call (619) 333-5134 or complete our online contact form today.